The Doobie Brothers – Minute By Minute (1978/2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz

Artist: The Doobie Brothers
Title: Minute By Minute
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 1978
Duration: 00:36:41
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz
Label: Rhino/Warner Bros.

The Doobie Brothers’ eighth studio album, originally released in 1978. Contains the Grammy-winning track “What A Fool Believes”.

With Tom Johnston gone from the lineup because of health problems, this is where the “new” Doobie Brothers really make their debut, with a richly soulful sound throughout and emphasis on horns and Michael McDonald’s piano more than on Patrick Simmons’ or Jeff Baxter’s guitars. Not that they were absent entirely, or weren’t sometimes right up front in the mix, as the rocking, slashing “Don’t Stop to Watch the Wheels” and the bluegrass-influenced “Steamer Lane Breakdown” demonstrate. But given the keyboards, the funky rhythms, and McDonald’s soaring tenor (showcased best on “What a Fool Believes”), it’s almost difficult to believe that this is the hippie bar band that came out of California in 1970. There’s less virtuosity here than on the group’s first half-dozen albums, but overall a more commercial sound steeped in white funk. It’s still all pretty compelling even if its appeal couldn’t be more different from the group’s earlier work (i.e., The Captain and Me, etc.). The public loved it, buying something like three million copies, and the recording establishment gave Minute by Minute four Grammy Awards, propelling the group to its biggest success ever. –AllMusic Review by Bruce Eder


  1. Here To Love You – 4:01
  2. What A Fool Believes – 3:46
  3. Minute By Minute – 3:28
  4. Dependin’ On You – 3:50
  5. Don’t Stop To Watch The Wheels – 3:26
  6. Open Your Eyes – 3:18
  7. Sweet Feelin’ – 2:43
  8. Steamer Lane Breakdown – 3:26
  9. You Never Change – 3:31
  10. How Do The Fools Survive? – 5:18