» » » Van Morrison - Keep Me Singing (2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/48kHz
Van Morrison - Keep Me Singing (2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/48kHz
Van Morrison - Keep Me Singing (2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/48kHz

Artist: Van Morrison
Title: Keep Me Singing
Genre: Blues, Pop Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul, Singer/Songwriter
Label: © Exile Productions Ltd.
Release Date: 2016
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 48kHz/24bit
Source: HDTracks
Duration: 00:56:40
Recorded: 2015–16

Van Morrison does exactly what he wants, when he wants, and continually mines the past no matter the cost. It's been four years since the Celtic soulman issued a collection of new, original studio material (Born to Sing: No Plan B), but given the music, it could have been yesterday. Morrison has no interest in innovation, he's already done that. The pace here is (mostly) laid-back, the music drenched in jazz, R&B, blues, and classy pop. He revels throughout in an elegant slow burn; his lyric themes are bittersweet, melancholic, filled with emotional and symbolic memory; his longing for the previous prevalent. The first line on album-opener "Let It Rhyme" is: "Throw another coin in the wishing well/Tell everybody to go to hell…" atop skeins of country and R&B as he reveals his recalcitrance. Celtic folk burrows underneath soul in the title track, as a trio of female backing singers, swelling B-3, and a snare undulate beneath his lyrics: "Keep me singing, a new beginning/waiting for my change to come...." A breezy harmonica solo adds a twist, but this tune reflects (musically as well as poetically) the protagonist in "Tore Down à la Rimbaud" from 1985's A Sense of Wonder, who is far down the road, holding stubbornly to a hope he knows (like his countryman Samuel Beckett) will elude him. "Out in the Cold Again" is one of Morrison's finest torch songs in a decade. His delivery hovers just above a small string section and Fiachra Trench's Errol Garner-esque piano. "The Pen Is Mightier Than the Sword" weaves blues-drenched electric guitar and organ exchanges in a midtempo steamy groove appended to excellent backing vocals from Dana Masters and Lance Ellington. The lone cover is a gospelized-blues version of Don Robey's and Alfred Braggs' ballad "Share Your Love with Me." (It was originally recorded by Bobby "Blue" Bland in 1963, and made immortal by Aretha Franklin in 1970. Morrison's version lies closer to the original in spirit.) The singer revisits his time in the San Francisco Bay area for "In Tiburon," where a circular Celtic jazz melody flows under his poetic lines as they name check various signposts in memory, invoking Beat poets, musicians, and locales. At its heart is a mysterious person he invokes over and again with the lines "Now we need each other to lean on…." A muted trumpet solo is misty, bittersweet, and tender. "Look Beyond the Hill" is a fingerpopping jazz tune with ghost traces of a "Moondance" musical feel, but without the magic hook. The outlier is "Going Down to Bangor," a raw blues, that directly references the early Chicago sound. Morrison offers his best blues shout and wails on harmonica. Keep Me Singing closes with "Caledonia Swing," an instrumental where skiffle, punchy R&B, and bluebeat ska rhythm (yes, really) come together in trademark style. Morrison delivers each of these songs with attentiveness; the material is consistently presented with finesse. Nothing further is required. --AllMusic Review by Thom Jurek

1. Let It Rhyme 03:53
2. Every Time I See A River 04:43
3. Keep Me Singing 03:40
4. Out In The Cold Again 07:07
5. Memory Lane 04:09
6. The Pen Is Mightier Than The Sword 03:51
7. Holy Guardian Angel 06:19
8. Share Your Love With Me 04:11
9. In Tiburon 05:18
10. Look Behind The Hill 02:28
11. Going Down To Bangor 05:18
12. Too Late 02:49
13. Caledonia Swing 02:54

Van Morrison - Composer, Drums, Guitars, Harp, Piano, Sax (Alto), Vocals
Liam Bradley - Drums, Percussion
Jez Brown - Bass
Laurence Cottle - Bass, Trombone
Lance Ellington - Vocals (Background)
Tony Fitzgibbon - Fiddle
Ange Grant - Vocals (Background)
Dave Keary - Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric)
Anthony Kerr - Vibraphone
Dana Masters - Vocals (Background)
Paul Moore - Bass, Organ (Hammond), Trumpet
Paul Moran - Bass, Organ (Hammond), Piano, Trumpet
Nigel Price - Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric)
John Platania - Guitar (Acoustic)
Paul Robinson, Robbie Ruggiero, Neal Wilkinson - Drums
Johnny Scott - Guitar (Electric)
Nick Scott - Bass
Kate St. John - Cor Anglais
Fiachra Trench - Organ (Hammond), Piano, Piano (Electric), String Arrangements
Enda Walsh - Keyboards, Percussion

NitroFlare Links
You must register before you can view this text. Please register and Login
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.
Dear visitor, you have not login. We recommend you to REGISTER and LOGIN to gain access to the full resource on our website.