» » » Blue Oyster Cult - Fire of Unknown Origin (1981/2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Blue Oyster Cult - Fire of Unknown Origin (1981/2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Blue Oyster Cult - Fire of Unknown Origin (1981/2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz

Artist: Blue Öyster Cult
Title: Fire of Unknown Origin
Genre: Rock, Hard Rock, Heavy Metal
Label: © Columbia Records, a Division of Sony Music Entertainment
Release Date: 1981/2016
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 96kHz/24bit
Source: HDTracks
Duration: 00:39:06
Recorded: 1981 at Kingdom Sound Studios, Long Island, New York; The Automatt, San Francisco, California

Despite the 80's sounding production and arrangements, 'Fire of Unknown Origin' is one of the strongest and most consistent set of songs that Blue Öyster Cult ever had. The album shows the band at their melodically best and most inspired, and there's not a single bad track to be found here. The title-track opens the record, and takes the style of 'Deadline' from the previous album into something even better. 'Burnin' for You' and 'Joan Crawford (Has Risen from the Grave)' remain two of the band's most immediate and catchy songs, and would make it into Blue Öyster Cult's concert repertoire and remained there more or less ever since. 'Veteran of the Psychic Wars' is in my opinion the best of their songs to feature lyrics by Michael Moorcock, and has a complex melody that never fail to impress me. 'Sole Survivor' uses the same female backing vocals that could be found on 'Mirrors', but here it works so much better and more integrated in the band's style. And their melodic harmonies rarely sounded better than on 'Vengeance (The Pact)' and that says quite a lot. 'Heavy Metal: the Black and Silver' is on the other hand more straightforward heavy rock that had more in common with the previous album. 'After Dark' is a fast and catchy pop/rock tune, while the closer 'Don't Turn Your Back' is the only song on the album that may takes some time to fully enjoy. With 'Fire of Unknown Origin', Blue Öyster Cult became one of the very few '70s hard rock bands to release one of their best albums in the 80's.

Who would have thought that in 1981, after a pair of limp, unfocused studio offerings, and two mixed -- at best -- live outings, that the once mighty Blue Öyster Cult would come back with such a fierce, creative, and uncompromising effort as Fire of Unknown Origin. Here was their finest moment since Agents of Fortune five years earlier, and one of their finest ever. Bringing back into the fold the faithful team who helped articulate their earlier vision, producer Sandy Pearlman, Richard Meltzer, and Patti Smith all helped in the lyric department, as did science-fiction and dark-fantasy writer Michael Moorcock. The band's sound was augmented by a plethora of keyboards courtesy of Allen Lanier, but nonetheless retained a modicum of its heaviness, and the sheer songwriting craft that had helped separate the band form its peers early on was everywhere evident here -- especially the gloriously noir-ish Top 40 single "Burning for You," written by Meltzer and guitarist Buck Dharma. Other standouts on the set include the plodding, über-riff pyrotechnics of "Heavy Metal: The Black and the Silver," and the Mott the Hoople- and Queen-influenced glammed up roots rock of "Joan Crawford." The terrifying images of desecration and apocalyptic war in "Veteran of Psychic Wars," with words by Moorcock, feature huge synth lines, dual leads by Dharma and Eric Bloom -- as well as a tom-tom orgy from Albert Bouchard -- offered a new pathway through the eternal night of the Cult's best work. Fire of Unknown Origin has aged well, and deserves to be remastered in the 21st century. --AllMusic Review by Thom Jurek

1. Fire of Unknown Origin 04:09
2. Burnin' for You 04:30
3. Veteran of the Psychic Wars 04:48
4. Sole Survivor 04:04
5. Heavy Metal: The Black and Silver 03:16
6. Vengeance 04:40
7. After Dark 04:24
8. Joan Crawford 04:54
9. Don't Turn Your Back 04:07

Eric Bloom, vocals, guitar, bass (on track 5)
Donald 'Buck Dharma' Roeser, lead guitar, bass, vocals, percussion
Allen Lanier, keyboards
Joe Bouchard, bass, vocals
Albert Bouchard, drums, synthesizer, vocals
Karla DeVito, background vocals (on track 4)
Sandy Jean, background vocals (on track 9)
Bill Civitella, additional percussion (on track 3)
Tony Cedrone, additional percussion (on track 3)
Jesse Levy, string arrangements on (tracks 3, 8)

NitroFlare Links
You must register before you can view this text. Please register and Login
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.
Dear visitor, you have not login. We recommend you to REGISTER and LOGIN to gain access to the full resource on our website.