» » » Van Morrison - Common One (1980/2015) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Van Morrison - Common One (1980/2015) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Van Morrison - Common One (1980/2015) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz

Artist: Van Morrison
Title: Common One
Genre: R&B, Soul, Pop Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Soft Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul, Rock & Roll
Label: © Warner Bros. Records
Release Date: 1980
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 96kHz/24bit
Source: Pono
Duration: 01:10:38
Recorded: 11–19 February 1980 at Super Bear Studios

Van Morrison was working through one of his greatest -- yet least appreciated -- creative periods when he made this album, one that burrows deeply into an introspective jazz-rooted spiritual groove. With Mark Isham's lonely muted trumpet up front, listeners are in the jazz world immediately with "Haunts of Ancient Peace," merging perfectly with Morrison's idiosyncratic vocal style. A low-pressure soul-jazz organ riff lays down the base of the most easily assimilated track, "Satisfied," as Morrison's lyric indicates that he has reached a state of internal peace. "Wild Honey" has R&B horn riffs over Philly-style strings, while "Spirit" mostly pursues a self-fulfillment path similar to that of "Satisfied." Ultimately, the record stands or falls upon two remarkable, gigantic 15-minute pieces, "Summertime in England" and "When Heart Is Open." The propulsive opening of "Summertime" drops names of Morrison's favorite poets and authors; the track teeters upon indulgence but you are drawn in by Morrison's obsessions with lines and phrases like "common one" and "let your red robe go," his voice becoming a twin brother of arranger Pee Wee Ellis' riffing sax. Lonely horns over the hilltops open "When Heart Is Open," and it begins to resemble a sequel to Miles Davis' treatment of "In a Silent Way," setting a peaceful, mesmerizing mood that carries you through its enormous length to the end of the record. No wonder the rock critics of the time didn't get it; this is music outside the pop mainstream, and even Morrison's own earlier musical territory. But it retains its trancelike power to this day. --AllMusic Review by Richard S. Ginell

1 Haunts Of Ancient Peace 07:11
2 Summertime In England 15:39
3 Satisfied 06:04
4 Wild Honey 05:50
5 Spirit 05:11
6 When Heart Is Open 15:14
7 Haunts Of Ancient Peace (Alternative Take) 07:46
8 When Heart Is Open (Alternative Take) 07:43

Van Morrison - vocals, guitar, harmonica
Mick Cox - lead guitar
David Hayes - bass, backing vocals
Mark Isham - trumpet, flugelhorn
John Allair - organ, piano, electric piano, backing vocals
Herbie Armstrong - guitar, backing vocals
Pee Wee Ellis - tenor and alto saxophones, flute
Pete Brewis - backing vocals on "Satisfied" with the band
Peter Van Hooke - drums
Toni Marcus - sitar, violin
Mark Jordan - keyboards

NitroFlare Links
You must register before you can view this text. Please register and Login
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.
Dear visitor, you have not login. We recommend you to REGISTER and LOGIN to gain access to the full resource on our website.