» » » The Doobie Brothers - Livin' On The Fault Line (1977/2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz
The Doobie Brothers - Livin' On The Fault Line (1977/2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz
The Doobie Brothers - Livin' On The Fault Line (1977/2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/192kHz

Artist: The Doobie Brothers
Title: Livin' On The Fault Line
Genre: Rock, Pop Rock, Soft Rock, Boogie Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul
Label: © Warner Bros. Records
Release Date: 1977/2016
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 192kHz/24bit
Source: HDTracks
Duration: 35:16
Recorded: 1977 at Sunset Sound Recorders, Hollywood, CA; Western Recorders, Hollywood, CA; Warner Bros. Recording Studios, North Hollywood, CA

Livin' on the Fault Line fell between two of the Doobie Brothers' biggest-selling records. The album had no hit singles, and one-time leader Tom Johnston kept a markedly low profile (this would be his last record with the group, not including a later reunion). Despite this, Livin' on the Fault Line contains some of the most challenging and well-developed music of the band's career, with Patrick Simmons and Michael McDonald really stepping to the fore. There's a vague mood of melancholia running through the songs, as well as a definite jazz influence. This is most obvious on the title track, which has several instrumental passages that showcase the guitar abilities of Simmons and Jeff Baxter. Similarly, "Chinatown" is a spooky mood piece not unlike the smooth fusion of late-period Steely Dan or Little Feat. But "Echoes of Love" and "Nothin' But a Heartache" are both intelligent, glistening pop songs that confirm Simmons and McDonald as first-rate tunesmiths. The record slips a little at the end, with a plodding R&B song and a Piedmont guitar instrumental thrown in as filler. Overall, though, this is a chapter in the Doobie Brothers' history that deserves a second look. --AllMusic Review by Peter Kurtz

1. You're Made That Way 3:30
2. Echoes Of Love 2:57
3. Little Darling (I Need You) 3:24
4. You Belong To Me 3:04
5. Livin' On The Fault Line 4:42
6. Nothin' But A Heartache 3:05
7. Chinatown 4:55
8. There's A Light 4:12
9. Need A Lady 3:21
10. Larry The Logger Two-Step 1:16

Patrick Simmons - guitar, vocals
Jeff Baxter - guitar, steel guitar
Michael McDonald - keyboards, vocals
Tiran Porter - bass, vocals
Keith Knudsen - drums, backing vocals
John Hartman - drums
Bobby LaKind - congas, vocals
Dan Armstrong - electric sitar solo on "Need A Lady"
Norton Buffalo - harmonica on "There's A Light"
Victor Feldman - vibes on "Livin' On The Fault Line"
Rosemary Butler - backup vocals on "Little Darling (I Need You)", "You Belong To Me", and "There's A Light"
Maureen McDonald - backup vocals on "You're Made That Way"
Ted Templeman - percussion

NitroFlare Links
You must register before you can view this text. Please register and Login
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.
Dear visitor, you have not login. We recommend you to REGISTER and LOGIN to gain access to the full resource on our website.