» » » Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals - Call It What It Is (2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz
Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals - Call It What It Is (2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz
Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals - Call It What It Is (2016) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/44,1kHz

Artist: Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals
Title: Call It What It Is
Genre: Rock, Blues Rock, Folk Rock, Hard Rock, Alternative Rock
Label: © Stax Records/Concord Music Group, Inc.
Release Date: 2016
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 44,1kHz/24bit
Source: HDTracks
Duration: 40:58
Recorded: The Village, Los Angeles, CA

It took Ben Harper nine years to reconvene the Innocent Criminals for 2016's Call It What It Is, but that's not necessarily an abnormally long time for this crew: eight years separated its 2007 predecessor Lifeline from their 2009 debut, Burn to Shine. Harper formed the Innocent Criminals partially with the intention that they'd be his Band of Gypsies, a support system for him to indulge in his Jimi Hendrix daydreams, but they wound up being an even better outlet for his soulful side. Despite "Pink Balloon" and the ham-fisted opener "When Sex Was Dirty" -- bluesy bluster that pulls this closer to Lenny Kravitz than Hendrix -- Call It What It Is is largely devoted to this blissed-out, mellow vibe. Part hippie blues and part Impressions, with just a dose of sunsplash reggae, this is an album for chilling at sunset. Harper may attempt grand statements -- when he's wishing for a time when sex was dirty, it's not a carnal yearning; he associates it with a time when the air was also clean -- but what matters on Call It What It Is isn't what he's saying, but how he's saying it. And that's where the Innocent Criminals come into play. The group gives Harper's tunes warmth and elasticity, opening them up with ease and letting them breathe. When he's backed by the Innocent Criminals, Harper never seems to be trying too hard, and that's why Call It What It Is is a cut above many of his records. --AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 When Sex Was Dirty 03:50
2 Deeper And Deeper 04:03
3 Call It What It Is 03:48
4 How Dark Is Gone 03:39
5 Shine 03:56
6 All That Has Grown 03:26
7 Pink Balloon 02:22
8 Finding Our Way 04:15
9 Bones 03:22
10 Dance Like Fire 03:10
11 Goodbye To You 05:07

Ben Harper − vocals, guitar, slide guitar
Juan Nelson − bass, background vocals
Leon Mobley − percussion, bongos, cabasa, clave, congas, djembe, flexitone, music stand, shakere, tambourine, triangle, viber flap, wind
chimes, whirly tube, background vocals
Oliver Charles − drums, djun djun, background vocals
Jason Yates − Hammond B3, piano,
Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzers, clavinet d6, guitar, background vocals
Michael Ward − guitars, background vocals
Jaclyn Harper – additional vocals on “Pink Balloon”
Claire Wadsworth – additional vocals on “When Sex Was Dirty”

NitroFlare Links
You must register before you can view this text. Please register and Login
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.
Dear visitor, you have not login. We recommend you to REGISTER and LOGIN to gain access to the full resource on our website.