» » » Joy Division - Substance (1988/2015) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Joy Division - Substance (1988/2015) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz
Joy Division - Substance (1988/2015) High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 24bit/96kHz

Artist: Joy Division
Title: Substance
Genre: Rock, Alternative, Post-Punk, New Wave
Label: © Warner Records 90 Limited
Release Date: 1988/2015 (2010 Remaster)
Quality: High-Fidelity FLAC Stereo 96kHz/24bit
Source: HDTracks
Duration: 01:08:25
Recorded: December 1977–March 1980

Substance is a compilation album featuring singles by the 1970's English rock band Joy Division. The compilation was originally released in 1988, it peaked at number 7 on the UK charts and made it to the Billboard 200 chart at number 146. The singles are taken from four EPs: An Ideal for Living, A Factory Sample, Earcom 2: Contradiction and Licht und Blindheit. The record also includes a few singles that were previously unreleased on albums by the group.

After New Order released their own Substance compilation in 1987, it was perhaps inevitable that a similar and long-overdue collection would apply to Joy Division, especially given the out-of-print status of many of the band's singles. The end result turned up in 1988, and as a listen easily demonstrated that the same sheer sweep and energy that applied to the band over a full-length album similarly worked, even more so, with the focus of a 7" or 12" release. Though the earliest tracks like "Warsaw" and "Leaders of Men" were a strange sort of art punk, there was already something distinct about the group, and by the time of "Digital" and "Autosuggestion," it was perfectly apparent. The former centered around Curtis' circular declarations of repetition and angst, while "Autosuggestion" builds up slowly, carefully, before an invigorating final rush. After that, "Transmission," a cold blue laser light of power, sneaking on an echo of synth and Hook's commanding bass before Morris, recorded brilliantly by Hannett, simply takes control. And from there, up and up, the whole band reaching a peak with Curtis' anguished scream "And we could dance!" As gripping as that is, by the time of its final singles, Joy Division outstripped even that -- "Atmosphere" and "Dead Souls" arguably make some of the best singles ever, the former a haunting, minimal call, the latter an ever more wired and explosive portrait of demand on a soul, from some inescapable outside force. Then, of course, "Love Will Tear Us Apart," Joy Division's eternal calling card, the inadvertent final bow, the blueprint for endless cover versions, a portrait of love and connection endlessly turning in on itself to destruction, set to a beautiful melody and one of the band's warmest performances ever. All this and, on CD, a slew of the B-sides as well -- the best adjunct to the two albums anyone could want. --AllMusic Review by Ned Raggett

1 Warsaw 2:27
2 Leaders Of Men 2:35
3 Digital 2:51
4 Autosuggestion 6:09
5 Transmission 3:37
6 She's Lost Control 4:55
7 Incubation 2:52
8 Dead Souls 4:56
9 Atmosphere 4:10
10 Love Will Tear Us Apart 3:27
11 No Love Lost 3:43
12 Failures 3:45
13 Glass 3:55
14 From Safety To Where 2:30
15 Novelty 3:59
16 Komakino 3:53
17 As You Said 2:00
18 These Days 3:26
19 Love Will Tear Us Apart (Pennine Version) 3:15

Ian Curtis - vocals
Bernard Sumner - guitar, synthesizer
Peter Hook - bass
Stephen Morris - drums

NitroFlare Links
You must register before you can view this text. Please register and Login
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.
Dear visitor, you have not login. We recommend you to REGISTER and LOGIN to gain access to the full resource on our website.